Traveling with kids

Time to pack for my weekend race frenzy!  This is the second time I am heading out of town for a race.  First time bringing my family to involve them in my marathon experience.  Of all the aspects of travel, packing is my least favorite thing to do and I usually start 2-3 days beforehand to make sure I don’t forget anything.  With the kids in tow, it’s more of a challenge as I brainstorm what to bring on the plane to keep them entertained for the 5+hr flight.   It’s been 6 months since our last plane ride.  Now my youngest is 2 and constantly testing her independence.  I’m not sure how she’s going to react being strapped in a car seat for several hours.  Hope they keep that seatbelt light off so she can freely move around.

Airplane travel (and long road trips) is when I lift my restriction regarding screen time (2hrs or less daily) so I need to have the IPad, Kindle and Leappad charged and ready with their game/shows/movies, hopefully enough to occupy their time.  Unfortunately, I know my kids will prefer something else to do besides having their eyes glued on a screen, so I also need to have paper and markers (5 yr old loves to draw), puzzles (2 yr old’s current obsession), books and cannot forget their snacks!  I’m sure more will be added to this list.

I am excited for my family to witness me running in a race.  Our hotel is conveniently located blocks away from the race course so they can see me a couple of times along the National Mall route prior to mile 18 and right after mile 19.  Seeing them will be the boost I need to power me through the final miles.

Disclaimer:  I copied this part of the map from an article written by Philip Runco “An Ipod Runner’s Guide to the Marine Corps Marathon”.  Interesting read for MCM newbies like me.

5 DAYS TO GO!!

