Reframe and Reset

REFRAME definition: A way to change your perspective when overcome by a particular situation, therefore changing your experience of it.  Basically, an act to think positively when a roadblock is encountered

Three weeks with ZERO mileage can wreak havoc in a runner’s mind, especially when scheduled for a half-marathon in late April (approx 8 weeks of training left).  Running is a part of my identity and when it’s taken away, it’s not easy to just let it go.  But I have to move past it and focus on attacking the possible cause of my pain – muscle weakness in my gluteal muscles mainly on the right side of my body. I’ve been aware of it for awhile now, yet I’ve done little to address it.  It’s apparent with my standing posture leaning on one leg which actually causes glute inhibition. I know it will take more time than just these past 3 weeks I’ve dedicated to achieve strength but at least I’ve taken the steps to correct this issue.

In addition to strength work, I’ve also been spending extra time to work out the adhesions in my back and lower body.

My foam roller has been my best buddy at night while watching TV.

Grid Foam Roller

And when I need a deeper massage, I reach for my therapy balls.

Tune up Therapy balls

I’ve always been a fan of the foam roller as it is so effective in kneading out the knots in my body but my hamstring muscles required more pressure.  Fortunately, I was introduced to the therapy balls by my husband who gifted this awesome book last Christmas and I’ve used it as a guide to assist in warding off my hamstring pain. So far, the knot in my hamstring is still apparent, but its size has decreased. It’s encouraging to know I’m headed in the right direction.

The Roll Model is a very comprehensive book emphasizing self-care to maintain suppleness in the connective tissues, and resetting the body’s ability to move minus the aches and pain. It covers every part of the body complete with illustrations and step-by-step instructions. Surely it’s a lengthy process to work every part of the body in a day, but if you spend at least 5 – 10 min to work on particular parts especially problem areas, your body will thank you for it.  I’m grateful I have the equipment to bring relief to mine.

