Save a Heart

Valentine’s Day – what better way to spend the morning but to sit in a room with a comical instructor to learn how to administer CPR, use an AED and assist a choking victim.  Cardiac arrest is a serious matter, of course, but having an instructor to keep the subject lighthearted made it more enjoyable.  As an ACE certified personal trainer, I have to keep my CPR/AED credentials current – last time I took a class was a couple of years ago and the procedure for administering CPR has actually changed since the Hands-Only CPR was introduced.  The Hands-Only CPR basically is CPR without the breaths.  A bystander who witnesses a person under sudden cardiac arrest can be hesitant in administering CPR to protect his/her own health. Without the pressure of giving breaths to a complete stranger, the witness can apply chest compressions proven that even without the breath, an effective way to revive the victim.  Of course, there are exceptions to the rule and it’s still important to know the skills and steps of CPR.  When my first child was born, I made it a priority to take an infant CPR class – you never know when the knowledge will come in handy.  I’m thankful I’ve never had to use it all.

The class ended around lunchtime and it was time for me to go home to my love bugs.  Saturday is when I usually go out for my long run but since my injury I went to the gym before the CPR class for an hour’s worth of strength training.  My hubby and I don’t really celebrate Valentine’s Day but because of the girls we made an effort to make it a little extra special by showering them with simple gifts.  But to my surprise, I came home to a red vase filled with sweet smelling roses and lilies!  My daughter also gave her Dad and I a gift she crafted in school – it was a butterfly with a special note inside. The thrilled expression on her face as she watched us open her gift was probably better than the gift itself – PRICELESS.

IMG_5281.JPG

I appreciate your comments

